chocolate chip cookies.

Sometimes you really need chocolate chip cookies.

Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

I love chocolate chip cookies, but over the years, I rarely made them.  When I did make them, I followed the old standard recipe on the back of the bag of chocolate chips.

I think I stopped making them because I was never into the texture – they always turned crispy once they were fully cooled.  Crispy chocolate chip cookies are not my thing.

This is most likely my fault.  In my early years of baking, I always worried about under-cooking cookies, which lead to me over-cooking them instead.  It took quite a while for me to remember to take cookies out of the oven when they were just set and let them cool (and continue to cook a bit) on the baking sheet.  When I mastered that technique, my cookies improved dramatically.  But chocolate chip still got left behind to other flavors.

And then I started craving them.  Luckily, a recipe popped-up on Picky Palate and I jumped right on it.  These cookies were great – they stayed chewy for days – not that they lasted long.  Rich and his friend polished off almost 3/4 of the batch as they came out of the oven.

Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies
Slightly adapted from Picky Palate

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups flour
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
fleur de sel

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  • Line a cookie sheet with a silpat or parchment paper
  • Cream butter and sugars in a stand mixer until light and fluffy – 2-3 minutes
  • Add egg and vanilla and continue beating until combined
  • Add flour, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt and mix until dough forms
  • Fold in chocolate chips
  • Scoop dough onto prepared baking sheets
  • Flatten dough slightly with your hand and sprinkle with fleur de sel
  • Bake for 10 minutes
  • Let cool on baking sheets for 10 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to chocolate chip cookies.

  1. When it’s all said and done but the chocolate chip cookie is still the greatest cookie of them all. It has stood the test of time.

Leave a Reply

