house tour: living room/dining room.

I suppose if I plan to write a blog about my home projects, I should probably show you what my home looks like.  We purchased our house in March 2011.  It was originally built in 1959 and we are the third owners.

We spend the bulk of our time in the living room and dining room, which is one large, open space.  Our pink couch was a hand-me-down from Rich’s grandmother and is older than I am.  The brick fireplace takes up an entire wall and has been re-fitted with a wood burning stove.

The Living Room

Wood Stove Area

The carpet’s days are limited.  White carpets and four animals are not a great combination.  Hopefully the concrete slab beneath the carpet is in decent condition and we’ll be able to work with it.

The Living Room

The built-in bookcase is one of the few interior projects we have completed.  When we first moved in, it was painted dark maroon.  It was not pretty.  The gray I chose had a bit more blue in it than I would have liked, but it’s a thousand times better than the maroon.

Bookcase

When we bought the house, I was so excited to have a dining room.  As soon as the purchase and sale was signed, I started trolling craigslist for a table and chairs.  Although I had no luck finding a table, I quickly stumbled upon the dining room chairs.  They were only $100, but definitely need some love.  I assumed I would recover them within a few months… a year and a half later, they’re still untouched.  It’ll happen eventually.

Rich and I had settled on the idea of building a dining room table when my parents generously offered us their table.  It had been the first real piece of furniture that they purchased for their home years ago.  Although they still loved it, they thought that the table was pretty much made for our house.  We love the table and use it every day.

Dining Room

This entry was posted in the house and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

