applesauce oatmeal bread.

I bookmark quite a few recipes… like hundreds.  I even have a spreadsheet for all these recipes.  It’s a great resource when I’m feeling uninspired in the kitchen.  However, many of these recipes never get made because I have so many to choose from and I’m always adding more.

Occasionally, I see a recipe and I can’t get it out of my head and I have to make it right away.  This is one of those recipes.

Applesauce Oatmeal Bread

This bread was amazing.  It comes together quickly and you don’t need to use a stand mixer.  I had most of the ingredients in my pantry, so I know I’ll be making this recipe again and again.  The bread is great on its own, but a little apple butter spread on top was a nice addition.

Applesauce Oatmeal Bread
recipe from tracey’s culinary adventures

1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 cup canola oil
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
3/4 cup cinnamon applesauce

  • Preheat oven to 350 F
  • Coat a loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray
  • In a medium bowl, add the flour, white whole wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and salt and whisk to combine
  • In a large bowl, whisk the sugar, eggs, oil and vanilla together
  • Add the dry ingredients to the wet, mixing until just incorporated
  • Stir in the oats and applesauce until incorporated
  • Transfer the mixture to the prepared pan and bake for about 1 hour, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the bread comes out clean
  • Remove the pan from the oven and place on a wire rack and allow the bread to cool for about 15 minutes, then turn it out of the pan and cool completely on the rack
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

