apple cider syrup.

I spent a good portion of my Sunday in the kitchen.  I had plans to can the remainder of my apples, but fell a bit short of that goal.  I’m sure I will get to it soon.

However, I did have a chance to make this Apple Cider Syrup.  I haven’t cracked open a jar yet, but it looks fantastic.  The tastes I snuck as I cooked it were pretty amazing as well.

Apple Cider Syrup

I followed the instructions on food in jars.  All you need is a gallon of unpasteurized apple cider, 3 cinnamon sticks, and 2 cups of sugar.  It takes quite a while to cook, but needs very little supervision – I had this simmering on the back burner while I cooked a roast chicken dinner.

A few things I noticed while making this.  One: keep an eye on it at the start.  When I was first bringing it to a rolling boil, it went from zero to overflow in the brink of an eye.  So either use a pot with plenty of room or be ready to turn it down to a simmer immediately.  Two: I had a lot of sediment floating at the top of my cider as it boiled down.  I skimmed this off the top as it collected.  I also strained the syrup through some cheesecloth before putting it into jar.  Three: mine took a lot longer than an hour to simmer down to a little less than half of the starting volume.  Just be patient.  Four: my syrup took forever to reach 218 degrees.  I was stuck at 216 degrees for what felt like ages.  Again, be patient – it will eventually get where you need it to be.

Marisa suggests giving this as a holiday gift, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to part with mine.  I’m looking forward to a hot cup of cider on a cold winter night.

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

