butterprint casseroles.

A work errand brought me over by Savers the other day and I figured it was worth a quick stop.  I haven’t had much luck at thrift stores lately, but it had been a few weeks, so I figured it couldn’t hurt.

I’m really glad I stopped.

Butterprint Pyrex

I found these 5 (FIVE!) butterprint casseroles hanging out in the bakeware aisle.  They were scattered all over the aisle and I quickly started gathering them together and stacking them while I thought about if I was going to buy them all or not.  Let’s be honest, I knew I was going to buy them all.

Butterprint is actually the pattern I set out to collect.  For years, I avoided buying any pyrex since I knew it would be a pain in the butt to move from apartment to apartment.  When Rich and I moved into our first apartment without roommates, I knew it was time.  To start things off, I bit the bullet and spent a little extra to get a set of all 4 cinderella mixing bowls.  After hemming and hawing for years over what pattern to collect, I had decided to start with Butterprint since I knew it was a pretty common pattern and I could grow my collection pretty easily.  I walked through Brimfield that year checking out prices and condition and bought the cheapest set I could find in good condition.  I finally had my pyrex set and I thought that would be the end of it for a while.

Needless to say, when we bought the house, all bets were off.  My collection quickly expanded from four bowls to one entire shelf to two shelves to three shelves to three shelves and more stashed all over the house.  I’ve reached the point where it’s time to part with some of it.  I have a better idea of what patterns I love and which ones just don’t do it for me.  That being said, I still love the thrill of finding pyrex.  I’m hoping to start selling some of it on the side so I can keep searching out new patterns.

These butterprint casseroles will be staying put.  I may have strayed over the years from my initial plan, but butterprint will always be one of my favorite pyrex patterns.

This entry was posted in antiques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to butterprint casseroles.

  1. angrickerson says:

    Butterprint is my fav!!!! I would’ve died to see those all. Congrats! Plus they are actually worth a lot for the set if you decide to sell them on Ebay. Could get $100 if you wait for the right buyer

  2. Jill says:

    That’s just crazy to find all of those at a thrift! Good for you!!

Leave a Reply

